England in 1713 Daniel Cook, David Smith and Hugh Graham. Who organized Presbyterian, Methodism in Canada is traced to Lorene Coughlin an Irish Methodist preacher who cam to new found land in 1765 upon his return to England many of the people organized openly declared themselves Presbyterian. In 1817 two groups joined from established church of Scotland and presbytery of pictou. Which represented another faction of Scottish Presbyterianism. Presbyterian were moving into central and western Canada as in Eastern Canada many divisions of Scottish church with them and established several Presbyterians thus the first Presbyterian and presbytery of the Canada in 1818 was formed.

The Canadian work grew and developed as an integral part of Methodist Episcopal church until 1828 when it separated and became independent meanwhile Methodist from Great Britain was migrated into Canada and like the Presbyterians from Scotland brought with them several divisions of British Methodist Presbyterians Irish Mission, Penthicostal Mission, Nazrin Mission, of American based joint together resulted the Canadian Presbyterian Mission, Methodist Mission, Nazrin Mission, Irish Mission, Seventh Day Adventist, Penthicostal Mission and Scottish Mission merged in Canadian Presbyterian Mission and became one subsequently on immigration for Presbyterianism thirteen Presbyterian Missionaries reached in India between 1862-1882 namely Dr. Rev. School Bred, Dr. Rev. Valentine, Rev. Campbell James, Rev. Wilson William, Rev. Donald, Rev. John Wing, Rev. D.G. Cock, Rev. King , Rev. Rushel Frank H., Rev. Dunnluis, Rev. W.J. Cook, Rev. J.C. Mackay and Rev. W.G. Robert all the Presbyterian missionaries had gathered at Indore Central India they asked permission from A.G.G. Government of India on 30th Aug. 1882 to preach Presbyterianism in India.

It was the first union of Presbyterian in India to cross historical denominational lines and hence received international acclaim impetus for the union arose out of the concern for serving the India and in desire for better overseas mission. On the 22nd of Aug. 1888 at 3.30 pm a session mat in the Canadian Mission College Indore consisting of 127 delegates were it was decided and a resolution was passed that successor and attorney general of said missions consisting of Canadian Presbyterian Mission, Rajputana Mission, Irish Mission, Penthicostal Mission Methodist Mission and Scottish Mission in Central India merged in Indian Canadian Presbyterian Mission and become one the chief of which will be the Moderator of Indian Canadian Presbyterian Mission of Central India.

On 19th Dec. 1893 a Deed of Enrolment was executed by the Registrar registering the properties of Canadian Presbyterian Mission in Central India situated in Ajmer, Todgarh, Kekri, Ashapur, Beawar, Nasirabad, Jaipur, Udaipur, Jodhpur, Kota, Alwar, Piplod Village, Deoli which mainly are in Rajasthan.

In the year 1904 an order was passed by the Resident of Hydrabad in Suit No. 27 of 1904 which endorsed the list of properties which were mainly situated in Bombay Presidency Central India and is now in Maharashtra.
In the year 1927 the Constitution of Indian Canadian Presbyterian Mission is been subjected which shows in its first clause that their shell be a governing body of Canadian Presbyterian Mission in Central India consisting of Malwa, Rajputana, Gujarat and Maharashtra and Central India. Its first clauses sub clause its clearly mentioned that their shall be a governing body of Canadian Presbyterian Mission to be called Moderator. In sub clause part ‘A’ in clearly mention the Moderator shall hold, Acquire, bye, sell, lease, mortgage and to give anybody. In clause ‘B” its mention that the Moderator shall be authorized to hold the authority of Canadian Presbyterian Missions movable and immovable properties. In clause 2 it is mention that the Moderator shall be superior or head of the congregation, synod and general assembly. It is also clearly mention in the clause fifth of the constitution that the officers of the Presbyterian mission shall be Moderator, Secretary and Treasurer the Secretary and the Treasurer will be elected at the annual meetings but the Moderator can’t be reelected if once elected and shall remain till he wishes to retire. In the last para of the constitution its written that the above said rules will remain forever. On 9th Nov. 1927 an amendment was made. According to that amendment the rights and possession of the properties of United Church of Northern India (UCNI) vested in Moderator of Canadian Presbyterian Mission in India. For the good discipline of Presbyterian Congregation in North India one constitution was made and such resolution was passed and duly signed by Rev. F.H. Russuel and Rev. Yohan Masih. Same had been registered in the companies act 1913 on dated 09.03.1939 vide No. 2912 this constitution is known as United Church of Northern India Trust Association (UCNITA). Sooner disputed arose between Govt. and Missioneries regarding review and ownership. Which lead to an order which was passed by the Small Cause court Bombay in suit No. 13893 in the year 1938 specifying that the property right of United Church of Northern India goes to the Canadian Presbyterian Mission of Central India.

In the year 24th June 2001 the present Moderator Right Rev. Solomon Smith came in the existence who is the present Moderator till today. The present Moderator Right Rev. Solomon Smith has done a Phenomenal and tremendous work in the grounds of re-attaining mission’s properties.
All rights reserved.
Copyright © 2009